Still Training with Furniture Sliders

Training with Furniture Sliders

It was almost 10 years ago when I first demonstrated how an inexpensive pair of furniture sliders could be used as an effective exercise tool. Long time readers of the site may remember that old YouTube video. It was just me, a low-resolution camcorder, and a 4-pack of sliders that cost around $10. Looking back, plenty has changed since that video, but one thing that remains the same are my sliders. I still own the same set and they still work as good as new.

Furniture Slider Exercise Demo

Below, you’ll see a recent demonstration of the sliders in action, and then I’ll answer questions that I’ve seen on social media since sharing the video this week.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Frosstraining%2Fvideos%2F305136866995274%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Commonly Asked Questions

Where can I purchase furniture sliders?

Furniture sliders are typically easy to find at general merchandise stores such as Walmart or Target. You can also find them at home improvement retailers such as Home Depot or Lowe’s.

If you prefer shopping online, here’s a link to a 4-pack on Amazon.

What size are your sliders?

The ideal dimensions for sliders to be used for exercise are 9-1/2 x 5-3/4 inches.

Do the sliders work on surfaces other than carpet?

There are sliders designed for other surfaces (ex. wood flooring), but I recommend those that can be used on carpet. I’ve refinished wood floors before and I wouldn’t want to be constantly sliding back and forth on nice wood. There’s no need to wear away the finish of your wood floors when you could roll out a thin strip of carpet instead.

Can’t I do the same thing with socks on a wood floor?

Whenever I demonstrate sliders, someone asks if the same exercises can be replicated by with a pair socks on wood floors. My response to these inquiries is always the same. Socks will work to an extent.

The difference between a sock and slider is significant however. I have used both and sliders are infinitely more versatile and durable. Socks aren’t nearly as useful for many of the faster paced exercises. You also won’t find a $10 pair of socks that will last 10 years. I’m lucky to get six months out of a pair of socks and that’s just wearing them in shoes.

My sliders don’t seem to slide as fast as yours. What can I do?

One of the easiest ways to get more speed out of your sliders is to apply a few drops of a water glass repellent. Rain-X is one such product that can be found in the automotive section of most general merchandise stores.

Working from a thin carpet is also preferable. Thicker carpets will reduce the speed of the sliders.

How do sliders compare to the ab wheel?

I’m often asked how sliders compare to the ab wheel, but the two are actually quite different. Although you can perform rollouts with each, that’s where the similarities end. Sliders allow for a much wider range of exercises.

I also find sliders to be more convenient when traveling. As a boxing coach, I’m often working at fights around the world. I never leave home without my sliders. They are easily tucked into a suitcase without taking up extra space or adding any significant weight to your bag. You’ll be hard pressed to find a better tool for hotel training.

Final Thoughts

In summary, I created the revised video above for two reasons. One was to introduce new readers of the site to an old idea. Perhaps more importantly though, I enjoy demonstrating how effective ideas from the past don’t need to expire. As a professional coach, I don’t care if an exercise is old or new. I’m only concerned with whether it works.

One of the biggest myths of the fitness industry is that new always equals better. That couldn’t be further from the truth. The age of an exercise or tool is irrelevant when considering its value. Some of the best ideas you’ll find come from the past. My old sliders are a perfect example. They work just as good today as they did 10 years ago, and my athletes and I still benefit from their use.

I hope to get another 10 years out of them.

Related Entry:

+++++

“The fool wonders, the wise man asks.” – Benjamin Disraeli

The post Still Training with Furniture Sliders appeared first on RossTraining.com.

Leave a comment